Write for Yourself Not for An Audience

Like it or not It’s the best way to begin

Grace Ekoh
3 min readMar 4, 2022
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

Don’t ever get stuck on figuring out what to write for an audience you don’t know or have. Rather, focus on expressing yourself because you are your number one audience.

I say this in all honesty with no intention to offend.

Every writer needs an audience for their work to thrive no doubt, but before worrying about an audience, you must know the kind of writer you want to be.

Why do you write or want to be a writer? There must always be a reason.

Writing for me is an outlet. A way to voice out my thoughts, to reduce the voices in my head (no, I’m not crazy). It’s also a way for me to note my experiences and the lessons I learn, so I can pass them on to others.

Writing is the art of documenting the past and present for future learning. So, whether you write with an audience in mind or not, your writing will still attract an audience.

Focus on yourself

An audience matters to every creator, but when starting it shouldn’t be your primary focus.

Write for yourself first. Focus on perfecting your skills, finding your voice, creating a system of writing you can stick to, and building confidence.

--

--

Grace Ekoh

Writer & introvert | Unveiling life's gems through captivating tales | Empowering, enlightening, and entertaining readers one story at a time.